Type theory, here I come…

For Christmas my parents got me a copy of Types and Programming Languages. w00t! I started reading it today on the subway coming home from work. Unfortunately I’m kind of anal about reading prefaces, introductions and so on, so I haven’t gotten to any actual substance yet. Tomorrow probably. Now I can finally put into a coherent, rigorous framework all the little bits of knowledge about type systems I’ve picked up here and there… =)

Also, last call for submissions to the Carnival of Mathematics! I’ll be posting it at midnight Thursday/Friday (or possibly early Friday morning), so it would be great to get submissions by 2pm tomorrow.

About Brent

Associate Professor of Computer Science at Hendrix College. Functional programmer, mathematician, teacher, pianist, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in learning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Type theory, here I come…

  1. Anand says:

    Congrats! Having just stumbled on your “Math Less Traveled”, and seen your obvious appreciation for the beauty side of math, let me vouch for learning type theory in a complete, systematic way. It is deeply elegant.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.