Fad diets are like burrito tutorials

Today at the top of my Gmail inbox was a link with the promise to explain “How I Lost 42 Pounds in 2 Months. Just Obey this 1 Rule, That’s All.” It occurred to me that fad diets are like monad tutorials. Of course, since Monads Are Like Burritos (and Tutorial is a functor), it follows that fad diets are like burrito tutorials. Which makes a certain amount of sense.

About Brent

Associate Professor of Computer Science at Hendrix College. Functional programmer, mathematician, teacher, pianist, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in humor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fad diets are like burrito tutorials

  1. chessguy says:

    err, you know you can turn those off right? Just click Settings and then Web Clips. Just thought I’d point that out.

  2. Brent says:

    Oh, I know. But I actually use the Web Clips. Most of the time it shows me news headlines. But if you’re using Web Clips at all you can’t turn off the sponsored links.

  3. Mitch says:

    Ah, now it makes sense. Since I started learning Haskell I’ve been struggling to understand intuitively what a “monad tutorial” is, and this metaphor really made it click for me. Thanks!

  4. Curt Sampson says:

    Actually, after going through a few monad tutorials to try and understand what they were, I found that writing my own tutorial on monad tutorials helped quite a bit.

    Now I’m going to go eat a burrito.

  5. Samuel BRonson says:

    @Curt: What? Not another one!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.