Ertugrul Söylemez: 1985-2018

I do not know many details, but IRC user mupf joined the #haskell-ops channel yesterday to tell us that Ertugrul Söylemez died unexpectedly on May 12. This is a great loss for the Haskell community. Going variously by mm_freak, ertes, ertesx or ertes-w, Ertugrul has been very active on the #haskell IRC channel for almost 11 years—since June 2007—and he will be remembered as a knowledgeable, generous, and patient teacher. In addition to teaching on IRC, he wrote several tutorials, such as this one on foldr and this one on monoids. The thing Ertugrul was probably most well-known for in the Haskell community was his netwire FRP package, which he had developed since 2011, and more recently its successor package wires. I think it is no exaggeration to say that his work on and insights into FRP helped shape a whole generation of approaches.

He will be greatly missed. I will leave the comments open for anyone to share memories of Ertugrul, his writing, or his code.

About Brent

Associate Professor of Computer Science at Hendrix College. Functional programmer, mathematician, teacher, pianist, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in haskell, meta and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ertugrul Söylemez: 1985-2018

  1. Aycan IRICAN says:

    I’m so sorry to hear that. A big loss for our community :(

  2. Francesco says:

    I am shocked by the news.
    I had numerous back and forth with him on Wires and FRP: he was always kind and helpful.

  3. Christian Stolz says:

    Ich werde dich nie vergessen , mein Freund , Mentor , Wegbegleiter. Eines Tages werden wir uns wieder sehen. Vielen Dank für unsere schöne Zeit, die ich niemals vergessen werde. RIP! :( . I’ll never forget about you. Friend, Teacher , Schoolbuddy. Thank u for all the great time ! One day we’ll see us! ;(

  4. I literally knew you half my life and without you I would never be the person I am today. For that I will be eternally grateful. Thank you my dear friend – I will never forget you. Michael Fitzmayer aka mupf

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.