Submit to the Workshop on Type-Driven Development!

This year I am the co-chair (with Sam Lindley) of the Workshop on Type-Driven Development, affectionately known as TyDe1.

The workshop will be co-located with ICFP in Oxford, and is devoted to the use of “static type information…used effectively in the development of computer programs”, construed broadly (see the CFP for more specific examples of what is in scope). Last year’s workshop drew a relativey large crowd and had a lot of really great papers and talks, and I expect this year to be no different! Andrew Kennedy (Facebook UK) will also be giving an invited keynote talk.

Please consider submitting something! We are looking for both full papers as well as two-page extended abstracts reporting work in progress. The submission deadline for regular papers is 24 May, and 7 June for extended abstracts.


  1. Which I think (though I am not certain) that we decided is pronounced like “tidy”.

About Brent

Assistant Professor of Computer Science at Hendrix College. Functional programmer, mathematician, teacher, pianist, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in meta and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Submit to the Workshop on Type-Driven Development!

  1. arnaudbailly says:

    Hello,
    I am not a researcher but I have been deeply interested in TDD for years, as a practitioner. It happens I have started working on a series of post attempting to reframe Domain-Driven Design concepts into typed functional programming, the first draft being in progress here: http://abailly.github.io/drafts/dependent-types-ddd.html

    I wonder if this kind of work would be worth submitting to TyDE. I suspect this may be too “simple” given the expected audience and context but I am not sure and I would like to attend ICFP at least once in my life :)

    Thanks for any feedback you could provide,

    Arnaud

    • Brent says:

      Hello! Thanks for your comment, and apologies for the long delay in responding. I think reframing Domain-Driven Design concepts in terms of (dependently) typed functional programming is a great idea. Whether you should try to submit something based on it to TyDe I think comes down to how well you can sell it as containing “novel and interesting research results” (quoting from the CFP). Although there is great value in repackaging, re-explanation, and synthesis of “old” ideas, that’s not what a venue like TyDe is for. On the one hand, reading your first post I get the impression that while it may be a great introduction to the value of dependently typed programming to someone familiar with Domain-Driven Design, there is not going to be anything particularly new or surprising to an experienced dependently typed programmer. On the other hand, as you say, it is only the first of a planned series of posts—it’s certainly possible that a systematic translation of DDD concepts into a dependently-typed setting could count as novel research. I’d be happy to provide feedback on further installments in the series if you’d like.

      In any case, you should attend ICFP whether you submit something to TyDe or not! The cost to you is the same either way (unless e.g. you can’t convince your employer to let you go unless you have a publication…?). It’s always a fantastic and stimulating experience.

  2. arnaudbailly says:

    Thanks a lot for your detailed reply.

    I indeed think there isn’t any “novel and interesting research results” in what I wrote, or what I plan to write. I am thinking more as a practitioner trying to funnel the great potential dependently-typed languages have to produce better and safer programs towards more mainstream use, and not pretending to be able to produce new insights in a research area for which I am certainly not skilled enough.

    But your announcement sprang from my inbox right at the same time I was working on this stuff and I was attracted to this idea of submitting!

    Anyway, I would definitely love to be able to attend ICFP (been on my Santa’s list for years…) but taking one full week of “vacation” at that time seems hard.

    Thanks again and no worries about the delay!

Leave a Reply

