Functional MetaPost

I just spent a very frustrating hour trying to get the functional MetaPost library (a Haskell DSL for generating MetaPost) working. It installs (via cabal-install) without a hitch, but I haven’t been able to get it to actually work. I can write a test program which imports the FMP module, and compile it, but then when I try to run it, it spews out a gazillion .log, .tmp, .mpx, .aux… files and a nasty-looking series of error messages (including a segfault). I’m happy to provide more details if anyone thinks they would actually be able to help…

All the more motivation to get back to a rewrite of my diagrams library

About Brent

Associate Professor of Computer Science at Hendrix College. Functional programmer, mathematician, teacher, pianist, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in haskell and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Functional MetaPost

  1. Felipe Lessa says:

    Why do you want to rewrite it? Do you have any ideas in mind? Perhaps I may be able to help you, as I like your library. The only complaint I have is not having a

    > viewDiagram :: Diagram -> IO ()

    that pops up a window allowing you to pan & zoom.

    Thanks!

    • Brent says:

      Perhaps “rewrite” is too strong a word; I want to move to a more flexible constraint-solving-based layout algorithm, which would allow for drawing lines/arrows/etc. between objects (the most glaring missing feature at the moment). But it might end up affecting a lot of the code which is why I said “rewrite”.

      Having a ‘viewDiagram’ would be neat! I imagine it wouldn’t be too hard, just a matter of plugging in some sort of gtk2hs backend, although I don’t know anything about gtk2hs. I’m happy to accept patches, of course. =)

      • Felipe Lessa says:

        Hmmmm, yes, this seems worthwhile. Do you have any interfaces in mind? In a first thought it’s kinda hard to have a generic interface.

        About the viewDiagram, yes, it shouldn’t be hard. Probably it could even be a separate package. In fact, I’ll probably need this function (or better, a widget and this function as a wrapper), so I’ll create a separate package when needed. =)

        • Brent says:

          Yes, I have an interface in mind (with ideas mostly stolen/borrowed from MetaPost). The hardest part, I think, will be dealing with issues of naming and sharing, since I want to continue to use a deep embedding. But I have some ideas there too.

  2. Jared says:

    Have you looked at Asymptote? It may not do what you need on the Haskell end but I had luck using it to create diagrams. It might give you some ideas (3D).

  3. Janis Voigtlaender says:

    Not much help to you, but Functional MetaPost works very nicely for me. I don’t know about the installation problems, as I installed it looong ago, and never touched it since then (but running it often). Now I am almost afraid of having to install it on a new machine pretty soon.

    Wouldn’t it be nice if Functional MP were part of the Haskell Platform?

    • Brent says:

      Well, I’m glad it works for you!

      That might be nice… although wouldn’t it be nicer if there were a native embedded Haskell drawing library which was part of the Platform? ;)

  4. JP Bernardy says:

    I am guessing you had not installed metapost fully. You probably need to install a package called texlive-metapost. Any plans for a metapost backend for the diagrams library?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.