FringeDC talk

My FringeDC talk has now been uploaded to Google video! A huge thanks to Conrad Barski, who took the effort to actually record the video and then wrangle it into digital form. Without further ado:

My FringeDC talk

The slides are here if you’d like to follow along.

In general I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. This is one of the first “real” talks I’ve given, though (although I did teach high school for two years), so I definitely learned a lot and have some good ideas for improving the next talk I give.

Comments or questions welcome!

ETA: the Java bug mentioned in the video was just fixed today! w00t!

About Brent

Associate Professor of Computer Science at Hendrix College. Functional programmer, mathematician, teacher, pianist, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in haskell and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to FringeDC talk

  1. Steve says:

    Great video, very interesting.

  2. Cale Gibbard says:

    Hehe, you should have written an example layout which would keep the windows off of the left edge of the screen!

  3. Kefer says:

    Would it be possible to make the video downlodable? I checked google video and the normally visible option wasn’t there. Thanks.

  4. sandesh says:

    Nicely presented. What tool have you used to make the presentation?

  5. Brent says:

    Steve: thanks!

    Cale: Haha, you’re right, I should have! Too bad I didn’t think of that… =)

    Kefer: I don’t know why, I looked in the video options and there’s a box which says “allow users to download the video” which is checked (it was checked by default and I didn’t change it). So if you are not able to download it I’m not sure why that would be the case.

    sandesh: Thanks. I used LaTeX with the ‘beamer’ package.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.