Blogging again, & some major life events

It’s been a long time since I’ve written anything here; the blog was on hold while I was finishing my PhD and on the academic job market. Now that things have settled down a bit I plan to get back to blogging.

For starters, here are a few of the major events that have happened in the meantime, that readers of this blog might care about:

  • I successfully defended my PhD dissertation in October, officially graduated in December, and got an actual diploma in the mail a few weeks ago. I’ll be back in Philadelphia for the official graduation ceremony in May.
  • I accepted a tenure-track position at Hendrix College in Conway, Arkansas, and will be moving there this summer.
  • Dan Piponi and I had a paper accepted to MPC 2015. Here’s the github repo, and I plan to post a PDF copy here soon (once I get around to incorporating feedback from the reviewers). I look forward to seeing a bunch of folks (Volk?) in Königswinter this summer; I already have my plane tickets (CIU -> DTW -> AMS -> CGN, it’s a long story).
  • Work on diagrams continues strong (no thanks to me!), and we are aiming for a big new release soon—I will certainly post about that here as well.

About Brent

Assistant Professor of Computer Science at Hendrix College. Functional programmer, mathematician, teacher, pianist, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in diagrams, meta and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

